Siena Heights University


Siena Heights University (SHU) is a Roman Catholic postsecondary institution with its main campus located in Adrian, Michigan. The institution was founded in 1919 as St. Joseph's College by the Adrian Dominican Sisters. In 1939, it was renamed as Siena Heights College after Saint Catherine of Siena. In 1969, it became coeducational. In 1998, it was renamed as Siena Heights University.

Adrian Dominican Sisters

The Sisters minister in 29 states, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and in seven countries outside the United States: Canada, the Dominican Republic, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, the Philippines, and Taiwan. Responsive to the "signs of the times," they strive to address the needs of the world, to serve where they are called to go.


The main campus has 55 acres with 17 buildings in Adrian, Michigan. The main campus has the distinction of being the first all-wireless college or university in the state of Michigan. There are satellite campuses in Southfield, Dearborn, Benton Harbor, Monroe, Battle Creek, Kalamazoo, Lansing, Jackson, and online.


Siena Heights is affiliated with and sponsored by the Dominican Sisters of Adrian, Michigan, accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCACS). The college seal uses the Dominican Shield of the International Order of Preachers, consisting of four white and four black gyrons or triangles. These symbolize the unity of a body of people working together for the common good. The "cross fleury" (or cross with a fleur de lis at each end) superimposed on the gyrons, signifies victory, duty, and self-sacrifice. The sable (or black of the shield) symbolizes wisdom, silence, fortitude, and penance. The light color signifies peace, purity, charity, and sincerity. The motto surrounding the shield, "Laudare, Benedicere, Praedicare," means "to praise God, to bless His people and to preach His gospel." The shield may also be surrounded by the six- or eight-pointed star that is the distinguishing symbol of St. Dominic.


The university has more than 40 academic programs of study between the College of Arts and Sciences, the College for Professional Studies and the Graduate College. The undergraduate college is further divided into seven academic divisions: Business & Management; Computing, Mathematics & the Sciences; Humanities; Nursing; Social & Behavioral Science; Visual/Performing Arts & Teacher Education. Siena Heights also provides classes for high school students through dual enrollment. This gives juniors and seniors who meet certain criteria to get college credit and experience while still in high school, getting students a step closer to going to college and learning about college life and class work. The student-to-faculty ratio is 12:1.



Siena Heights University Main Campus,
247 E. Siena Heights Dr.

MI 49221 Adrian, Michigan, USA

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you