Sun Yat-Sen University


Sun Yat-sen University, originally known as Guangdong University, was founded in 1924 by Dr. Sun Yat-sen (also called Sun Zhongshan), a great democratic revolutionary leader of the 20th century. The University is located in Guangdong Province, an area neighboring Hong Kong and Macao, which is at the forefront of China's reform and opening up.

Being one of the leading universities in the People's Republic of China, Sun Yat-sen University is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary university, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, technical sciences, medical sciences, pharmacology, and management sciences.

It has about 82,384 students studying on four campuses in and Zhuhai. Benefiting from its location near Hong Kong and Macao and the regional advantage of opening and economic development, the university has become an important base for training high-level talents, scientific research, providing services to society and inheriting cultural traditions.

The University has also successfully built international cooperation and exchange relationships with many top universities in the world. According to the Times Higher Education World University Ranking for 2010-2011, Sun Yat-sen University was ranked in the top 200 in the world.

At present, Sun Yat-sen University covers a total area of 5.972 square kilometers and has 4 campuses: Guangzhou South Campus, Guangzhou North Campus, Guangzhou East Campus, and Zhuhai Campus.



Guangzhou South Campus,
No. 135, Xingang Xi Road

510275 Guangzhou, Guangdong, China


Guangzhou North Campus,
No. 74, Zhongshan Er Road

510085 Guangzhou, Guangdong, China


Zhuhai Campus,
Tang Jia Wan

519082 Zhuhai, Guangdong, China


Guangzhou East Campus,
Xiaoguwei Island, Panyu District

510006 Guangzhou, Guangdong, China

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you