Keystone logo
Meiji University

Meiji University

Meiji University


Meiji University was founded in January 1881 as the Meiji Law School by a group of young lawyers barely in their 30's: Tatsuo Kishimoto, Kozo Miyagi, and Misao Yashiro. It was an era characterized by Japan's urgent need to develop as a modern independent nation. The three founded the Meiji Law School in their fervent hope to "foster bright capable youths who would lead a modern civil society in Japan".

Meiji University ranks solidly among the best universities in Japan, currently consisting of 10 undergraduate schools, 12 graduate schools and four professional graduate schools.

In addition to the Surugadai Campus, Meiji University also comprises the Izumi Campus, Ikuta Campus, and the Nakano Campus newly opened in April, 2013.

- Founding Spirit -

Rights and Liberties, Independence, and Self-Government

- Philosophy -

Individual Empowerment

- Mission -

To realize a free, peaceful, and prosperous society

through the development of knowledge and human resources


  • Chiyoda

    Chiyoda, Japan